Excellence Strategy

Excellence Strategy

In summer 2016, the Federal and State Governments agreed a follow-up programme for the Excellence Initiative – the "Excellence Strategy" (ExStra).

This programme is also being implemented by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Council of Science and Humanities (Wissenschaftsrat).

ExStra is endowed with EUR 80 million in 2017, and with an annual total of EUR 533 million from 2018 onwards. The programme will run for an indefinite period of time and comprises two successive funding lines:

1. Clusters of Excellence

Clusters of Excellence for project-based funding of internationally competitive fields of research at universities or university consortia. Three clusters of TU Dresden, that were developed in cooperation with many DRESDEN-concept members, were approved in September 2018:

PoL: Physics of Life

Joint members: Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics (MPI-CBG), Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPI-PKS), Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research (IPF), Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

ct.qmat: Complexity and Topology in Quantum Matter

(collaborative Cluster of Excellence with Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (JMU))

Joint members: Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research Dresden (IFW), Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPI-PKS), Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids (MPI-CPfS)

CeTI: Centre for Tactile Internet with Human-in-the-Loop

Joint members: Fraunhofer Institute for Organic Electronics, Electron Beam and Plasma Technology (FEP), University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus (UKD), DLR Institute of Software Methods for Product Virtualization

2. Universities of Excellence

Universities of Excellence to strengthen universities long-term, either as individual institutions or as university consortia, and to further their leading position in research on the international stage

An application to become a University of Excellence can only be granted on the basis of successful Clusters of Excellence. Specifically, the approval of at least two Clusters of Excellence at the same university, or at least three Clusters of Excellence in university consortia, is the prerequisite for a follow-up application for the second funding line, namely Universities of Excellence.

Find out more about the Excellence Strategy and the participation of TU Dresden.

DRESDEN-concept e. V.
TU Dresden
01062 Dresden

Phone +49 351 463 43178


Press inquiries:

Phone:+49 351 463 40428